Wolverhampton Wanderers

Formed in 1877, Wolverhampton Wanderers were one of the founding members of the Football League in England in 1888 before winning the FA Cup in 1893, 1908 and 1949.  

They were crowned champions of England three times in six years between 1954 and 1959 before adding a fourth FA Cup in 1960.  

Wolves reached the UEFA Cup final in 1972 before winning the League Cup in 1974 and 1980.  

Sir Jack Hayward bought the club in 1990, with Wolves eventually promoted to the Premier League in 2003 under Dave Jones, ending a 19-year absence from the top flight.  

But they were immediately relegated back to the Championship before returning as champions in 2009.  

Relegation again followed in 2012, although a year later on this occasion, Wolves dropped down to the third-tier of English football.  

They retuned to the Championship at the first attempt, and after Chinese investment group Fosun International bought the club in July 2016, Wolves won promotion back to the Premier League as champions in 2018 under manager Nuno Espírito Santo 

Club legends include wing-half turned central defender Billy Wright and striker Steve Bull, who scored 306 goals in 13 years at the club.