Leicester City

Leicester City wrote one of the greatest stories in footballing history when they shocked the world to win the English Premier League for the first time in 2016.

Against all odds, former manager Claudio Ranieri’s team – which included the likes of N’Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and one-time HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens winner Marc Albrighton – raced ahead of their more illustrious challengers and never looked back to produce a title success that will live long in the memory.

In recent years, Leicester have been regular participants at the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens, winning the Shield following a 3-2 victory over Chelsea in the 2012 final in their maiden tournament.

A year later, the Foxes returned to lift the Cup following a 2-0 win against holders Newcastle United, before successive Plate finals – victory in 2014 over BC Rangers and defeat on penalties the year after to Hong Kong Football Club – followed as Leicester’s record read four finals in four tournaments.

Last year, Leicester advanced to the quarter-finals before going down 2-1 to New Zealand’s Wellington Phoenix, only to reach a fifth straight final after defeating Kashima Antlers 6-5 in the Shield semi-final.

A 3-2 victory over Hong Kong’s Eastern in the final means Leicester have now lifted four trophies in five HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens tournaments.

Peter Shilton, Gary Lineker and Emile Heskey were all products of the Leicester academy and were last year joined on the club’s legends list by a squad of players who achieved the unimaginable. And Leicester’s next crop of talent will be looking to achieve yet more success at the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens.