李斯特城

李斯特城於2016年震驚世界地贏得球會史上唯一一次英超冠軍,寫下球會歷史上最光輝的一頁。

簡迪、華迪、馬列斯及曾代表維拉贏得港會七人賽的艾伯禮頓等球員在前領隊雲尼亞里領導下排除萬難贏得首個英超冠軍,相信足以令他們名留青史。

李斯特城近年一直是港會七人賽的常客,他們在2012年首度參賽,並在當屆盾賽決賽以3比2擊敗車路士贏得冠軍。

翌年李斯特城的表現更進一步,他們在盃賽以2比0擊敗衛冕冠軍的紐卡素,首度贏得最高榮譽的盃賽冠軍。之後兩年李斯特城亦連續兩屆殺入碟賽決賽,2014年他們擊敗標準流浪奪標,但在2015年則不敵港會屈居亞軍。

去年,李斯特城在盃賽半準決賽以1比2不敵威靈頓鳳凰;轉戰盾賽後他們在準決賽以6比5擊敗鹿島鹿角晉身決賽,亦令李斯特城創下5度參賽均能殺入其中一項錦標決賽的佳績。

李斯特城最終在盾賽決賽以3比2擊敗港超冠軍東方,取得安慰獎,他們5度參賽只有1次是空手而回。

施路頓、連尼加及希斯基等家傳互曉的英格蘭球星均是李斯特城的青訓產品。李斯特城於去年寫下奇蹟後,相信一眾小將在接著的港會七人賽將會為球會爭取更多的成就。

XS
SM
MD
LG

Leicester City

Leicester City wrote one of the greatest stories in footballing history when they shocked the world to win the English Premier League for the first time in 2016.

Against all odds, former manager Claudio Ranieri’s team – which included the likes of N’Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and one-time HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens winner Marc Albrighton – raced ahead of their more illustrious challengers and never looked back to produce a title success that will live long in the memory.

In recent years, Leicester have been regular participants at the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens, winning the Shield following a 3-2 victory over Chelsea in the 2012 final in their maiden tournament.

A year later, the Foxes returned to lift the Cup following a 2-0 win against holders Newcastle United, before successive Plate finals – victory in 2014 over BC Rangers and defeat on penalties the year after to Hong Kong Football Club – followed as Leicester’s record read four finals in four tournaments.

Last year, Leicester advanced to the quarter-finals before going down 2-1 to New Zealand’s Wellington Phoenix, only to reach a fifth straight final after defeating Kashima Antlers 6-5 in the Shield semi-final.

A 3-2 victory over Hong Kong’s Eastern in the final means Leicester have now lifted four trophies in five HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens tournaments.

Peter Shilton, Gary Lineker and Emile Heskey were all products of the Leicester academy and were last year joined on the club’s legends list by a squad of players who achieved the unimaginable. And Leicester’s next crop of talent will be looking to achieve yet more success at the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens.

XS
SM
MD
LG