阿士東維拉

阿士東維拉除了是香港足球會Citi國際七人足球賽的衛冕冠軍外,8度打入決賽、6度奪冠的他們可說是賽事歷來最成功的球隊。

該支英格蘭中部球會在2016年的賽事先於小組賽分別擊敗紐卡素、傑志及港會取得全勝,繼後在八強及四強分別擊敗鹿島鹿角及威靈頓鳳凰殺入決賽。

去年維拉在艾比度、麥卡迪及夏本梅菲等具潛質的新秀協助下,於決賽以2比0擊敗韋斯咸奪得盃賽冠軍,亦是繼2010年以3比2擊敗格拉斯哥流浪後再次摘桂。

曾代表維拉一隊上陣的艾邦拉賀、基亞列殊、加利卡希爾及艾白禮頓等家傳互曉的英超球星,均曾隨維拉來港於港會七人賽中上陣,當中現時效力李斯特城的艾白禮頓更在2010的盃賽決賽入波。

該支1982年歐洲冠軍近年在本土賽事苦苦掙扎,他們雖曾殺入2015年足總盃決賽,但於2016年終要面對首度降落英格蘭次級聯賽的命運。

維拉一隊現時由經驗豐富的布魯士執教,且看他們能否重返英超之餘,接著來港為維拉上陣的小將又能否協助球隊重拾昔日光輝。

XS
SM
MD
LG

Aston Villa

Aston Villa are not only the holders of the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens, they are also by far its most successful side having won the tournament a record six times and been in the final on a further two occasions.

The Midlands-based club won all three of their group matches in 2016 to advance to the quarter-finals ahead of Newcastle United, Kitchee and Hong Kong Football Club before Japan’s Kashima Antlers and Wellington Phoenix of New Zealand were put to the sword in the last eight and last four respectively.

A 2-0 victory over West Ham United in the final – the Villains’ first title since defeating Scotland’s Rangers 3-2 in 2010 – moved the club to six titles as young stars such as Khalid Abdo, Harry McKirdy and Rushian Hepburn-Murphy showcased their footballing potential.

Prior to last year, Aston Villa had brought with them an array of talent that had gone on to appear for the first team including current players Gabriel Agbonlahor and Jack Grealish, Chelsea defender Gary Cahill and Leicester City’s title-winning winger Marc Albrighton, who scored in the 2010 win over Rangers.

In recent years the club, whose proudest moment came in lifting the 1982 European Cup, has struggled on the domestic front. Despite reaching the FA Cup final in 2015, Aston Villa had flirted with relegation for several years prior to 2016, when the fateful day finally arrived.

Now under the guide of experienced manager Steve Bruce, Villa will look to bounce back strongly and reclaim their place in England’s top flight with a next generation of stars set to take to the stage at Hong Kong Football Club.

XS
SM
MD
LG